Persepolis and more Book Thief Pages


This week, my students are studying the Islamic Revolution in Iran in preparation for reading Persepolis. Many had never read a graphic novel before and went ahead and zipped through it. Most have really enjoyed it, but I’m looking forward to hearing their perspectives once we know a bit more about that time period. Today, I showed an interview with Marjane Satrapi. She’s really fascinating; I had the opportunity to meet her and hear her speak in Houston two years ago. I don’t simply want my students to discuss the book. I want them to understand the impetus for Satrapi’s novel and it’s medium/format. If they learn anything during this semester, I hope it’s that these elements are deliberate choices by a writer/author to affect the reader in a certain manner. Video here:

Also, the end of last week and early this week brought a few more repurposed pages from The Book Thief lesson. They were still discussing it earlier this week after we had already moved on, so I took that as a good sign and did a little happy dance inside. I always feel like a mom blending broccoli into brownies or something when they tell me they enjoy something I assign. So, without further ado, here are a couple more repurposed pages. Tomorrow, I’ll post about The Brothers Karamazov, Part Two. What are you reading?


5 responses to “Persepolis and more Book Thief Pages

  • Elyse

    I just received Greg Mortenson’s Stones into Schools for my birthday. It looks interesting and is by the man who wrote Three Cups of Tea. The last book I finished was Scott Turow’s Innocent, the sequel to Presumed Innocent. (I’m giving away 5 copies at my blog, if you’re interested).

    I see you’ve started tweeting! Are you addicted yet?

    • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

      Well happy birthday!!!

      I have started tweeting. I’m still trying to get the hang of it, with trending at all. It’s just kind of odd. Plus, I feel like I’m invasive if I respond to someone’s tweet. I’ll get used to it one day.

  • Nymeth

    This post made me wish I were one of your students. I loved Persepolis, and studying the Revolution beforehand would have made me get so much more out of it. Thank you also for sharing that interview!

  • atla

    I’ve had Persepolis on my to-read list for ages! The Book Thief for awhile, too. So many books, so little time.

    I’m taking a month off soon, and keeping notes of things to read during that time. Thanks for the reminders. 🙂

Leave a comment