Blurbs and a Trip to the Library – or vice verse


I returned my last week’s library stash this afternoon, having read all six and a couple around the house. I walked in and deposited my books on the counter and the librarian was the same who checked me out last week. She said, “Wow. That was fast.” I thought to myself: You have no idea. Get ready to enter a reader/librarian relationship like you’ve never had before.

So I browsed, and as I did so I thought quite a bit. Having not been a library patron over the last 15 years, I usually know exactly what I want to read and pick it up. I was irritated when I got into the stacks that I had not written down book titles from other great bloggers. I did this for a while but have stopped. When I read a review and want to read the book, it’s as if I think my brain will retain not only the title but the author as well. It ain’t happenin. I was a bit frustrated, but the beauty of the library is that I can wander around, as long as I want, and find books I’ve forgotten or never knew I wanted to read.

However, the blurbs do not help. I read some truly awful blurbs this afternoon. One of the worst was for a Michael Cunningham book; it basically listed the characters and talked about how their personalities brought on the climax of the book. Sheesh. Really? The characters brought on the climax of the book? I figured it would be Harry Potter rushing in to save the day. I mean, come on. I put the book down, don’t remember the title, and was a bit annoyed at the laziness of it. There was nothing more enticing about that book? Ok, so maybe I’m a bit harsh, but I always check the blurb and the first paragraph. If they don’t hook me, I don’t pick it up.

So… what did you end up with, you may ask:

The Last Picture Show by Larry McMurtry

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel (I’ve wanted to read this for years.)

The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors by Michele Young-Stone

Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

Bandbox by Thomas Mallon

A Golden Age by Tahmima Anam

Black Hills by Dan Simmons

Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende

Yea! and Happy Monday!

One response to “Blurbs and a Trip to the Library – or vice verse

Leave a Reply

