Time to Tuck In…


and grade research papers. It is so difficult for me to sit still for so long and read page after page of student work. Even though at times there are nice surprises within those pages, the effort seems to nearly undo me. Again, I apologize for no posts this week. I have been quite busy with student conferences to discuss said research papers, a Norah Jones concert in Houston Wednesday evening (Thanks Mom and Dad!), an art function in Houston Thursday evening, and final presentations in class. This morning, in preparation for hours of no motion, I walked the dogs, made a fresh strawberry/pineapple smoothie, took some Advil Migraine in advance, showered, and am just now sitting down with my stack. And, boy howdy, do I mean a stack. Below is the photo. I’ll update throughout the day with any astoundingly good (or bad) student sentences. It should be fun… sort of.

UPDATE: 2:26 p.m. – Total Papers Graded: 1 Total packets of Smarties eaten: 5 Total trips to the kitchen/front porch/bedroom: too many to count Total episodes Glee watched: 1

Does not bode well…

UPDATE 2: 6:13 p.m. – No way no how am I telling you how few papers I’ve graded or how many Smarties I’ve consumed. I will, however, share a student from a research paper on “The Yellow Wallpaper”: “She is smoldered by her husband because he is constantly watching over her every move.” Aaaaaahahahaha.

UPDATE 3: 6:36 p.m. – Another great student passage: “Life can either be accepted or changed. If it is not accepted, it must be changed. If it cannot be changed, then it must be accepted.” So if I accept it but want to change it, where does that leave me?

UPDATE 4: 05/10/10 1:19 p.m. – “Kate Chopin is a writer from the past-time.” This reminds me of a Friends episode where Rachel is buying furniture from Pottery Barn, but Phoebe hates Pottery Barn. So Rachel tells Phoebe she is getting the great furniture from a flea market. When Phoebe asks about the different pieces, Rachel tells her they are from time periods such as “yore.” Wow.

3 responses to “Time to Tuck In…

Leave a Reply

