The Case of the Missing Book


Now that I am back to 100% – health and energy wise, I am back on track with my TBR pile. But, dear reader, do not fret. I did read while sick. I read Past Reason Hated and A Dedicated Man by Peter Robinson. I read The Cruellest Month and The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny. I finished The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky and began The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. In the past two days, I have begun two more books.

However, the book I want to start? The Swan Thieves by Elisabeth Kostova. I know it’s here somewhere, but I’ll be darned if I can find it. Of course, the difficulty of this search is compounded by the fact that I still do not have enough bookshelves in my house to accommodate all of my books – all this AFTER clearing out the books I had beneath the bed in the guest bedroom, the books hiding in my car, in purses, schoolbags, etcetera. Sooo… if you’ve seen my copy of The Swan Thieves, just put it on my desk or bedside table quietly, and no one gets hurt. Please and thank you.

4 responses to “The Case of the Missing Book

  • iliana

    Sorry to hear you were under the weather! At least you took care of yourself the right way – lots of good reads. What did you think of the Penny books? I was so disappointed with The Brutal Telling but I still like Gamache a lot so I’m sure I’ll read the next installment.

    Take care and hope you find your book!

    • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

      I remember you commenting on that one, but since it was in my TBR stack, I skipped your review. I was so disappointed because I really loved Olivier, and it just didn’t seem to wrap up well. These were my first two of hers to read, and I really loved the atmosphere and Gamache. In The Cruellest Month, I loved the conspiracy stuff in the background. That book was phenomenal.

      And thanks. I hope I find that book, too. It’s become an obsession.

  • atla

    It was eaten. Your book, I mean.

    Once, back in junior high, I was reading a Stephen King book The Long Walk (typical stuff for me back then). I had a friend over, and she teased me by hiding the book under my bed. I had learned to keep my room clean by this time, and there was hardly anything under my bed. Definitely not a book.

    It was never found. 😦 It was eaten, and probably by the same word-muncher that ate yours.

Leave a Reply

