To Twitter/Tweet or Not…


I notice that many of the bloggers out there are using Twitter (Dolce Belleza, Hey Lady, Savidge Reads, Booklady’s Blog).

If you use it, why do you twitter/tweet? Can you explain it a bit to a total newbie? I didn’t even realize I had an account until I got a couple emails saying I had “followers”? I logged on with the username in the email and my typical password, and sure enough, looks like at some point, I signed up.

So… I guess what I am saying is: Help! Let me in to this apparently wonderful world. Explain. Offer advice. Any and all help is appreciated.

13 responses to “To Twitter/Tweet or Not…

  • Marlene

    Ummmmm. I’m not sayin’, just sayin’….but you seem already to be overwhelmed with texts and emails on that iphone already….seems to me, that this would potentially become more stress….????

  • Elyse

    I was super resistant to Twitter, too. Didn’t understand why people would want to put what they’re having for lunch on the Internet. I also signed up and forgot about it until I got notice I had followers.

    Now I’m glad I finally gave it a try. I don’t put anything super personal on there, just funny tidbits about my day (I live in L.A. and encounter a LOT of weird stuff) and links to my posts. It’s brought me a lot of readers.

    My favorite thing, though, is that I’ve “met” many cool people/bloggers/authors this way. Example: I’ll tweet about a favorite author. That author does a search for his/her name on Twitter, comes across my tweet, tweets a reply and follows me. Ta-da! Instant connection to my favorite author.

    I don’t tweet every day or that many times a day; it depends on if I have anything interesting to say or reply to someone. (Sometimes fun discussions pop up on there.) It CAN suck a lot of time from your day so if you do it, give yourself a finite window to tweet then get off.

  • Word Lily

    I love Twitter. I was very hesitant to join at first, but I love it because of the conversations and potential conversations about books and life going on all the time. It’s easier to follow more people on Twitter than to follow more blogs in Google Reader, too. I’m @WordLily

  • Debbie

    I guess I’m clueless too, and was reading the comments to get a clue… to tweet or not to tweet?
    (nice blog)

  • Ooh! Ahh! Happy New Year! « Picky Girl: Discussions of film & fiction

    […] it. I don’t like memes, except this one. Readalongs are awesome. The library is mega awesome. Twitter is not evil. If there is a blogging tiff, I will know nothing about it. Romance novels aren’t all that […]

Leave a Reply

