Booking Through Thursday


Do you take breaks while reading a book? Or read it straight through? (And, by breaks, I don’t mean sleeping, eating and going to work; I mean putting it aside for a time while you read something else.)

I am, what I have begun to refer to myself as, a one-sitting reader. I barely take bathroom, snack, or sleep breaks. I can remember my mom making me go outside when I was younger and sneaking my book out with me to sit in a hammock and read. Don’t get me wrong – she encouraged my reading and is a book lover herself, but there were times when my reading was ridiculous.

These days there is not always someone to stop me, and that can be an awful awful thing. When I read The Help, I began it at 8 p.m., intending to read about 50 pages. I finished it that night. Right now, I am reading Carson McCullers’ The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. It’s quiet and lovely, and I am enjoying it. However, outside influences are enough at the moment to keep me from devouring it. So, it depends on the book. It depends on exterior obligations. It depends on my mood.

That said, living alone is an amazing amazing phenomenon. There are times when dishes should be washed or laundry should be loaded, but if I am really into a book, there is no one to make me feel guilty for not taking care of those domestic tasks immediately. And I loooooove it.

10 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  • Melanie

    I used to be a one-sitting reader, but lately I’ve found myself just reading a few chapters at a time. Unless it’s an absolutely amazing book that I just can’t put down. Then I happily give up food and sleep.

  • Bellezza

    There is something quite wonderful abut living alone. You can have hot fudge sundaes for dinner, and you can read whenever you want. I envy you reading til you finish the book, though, because I tend to fall asleep even when it’s a great read!

  • Sommer

    I really love it when I find a book that I just can’t stop reading. Does it make me a bad mother to want to say, “Don’t you want to watch SpongeBob or play your PS3?” Last night, I stayed up really late (11 p.m. for me…haha!) reading my new book. All I can say is THANK GOD FOR SPONGEBOB, PLAYSTATIONS, AND PONYTAIL DAYS! Amen!

  • Elyse

    It definitely depends on the book and my obligations at the time I start it. I read Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogy and SHADOW OF THE WIND in one sitting. With WIND, I remember being angry at myself for not having a stronger bladder every time I had to pause for a bathroom break. I was so engrossed in that book, I wanted to go for 8 hours straight without having to stop.

  • Elyse

    Oh, meant to add that your story about your younger days evoked memories of my own. My parents are voracious readers and passed that love on to all us kids, but when I was younger, my devotion to books was cause for some concern.

    I was averaging a book a day, stayed in on weekends, rarely went out with friends because clubbing sounded nightmarish while reading was much more fun. Mom would also find me awake and reading at 5 a.m. when she got up to go to work and realize I’d stayed up all night on a school day.

  • MattRavey

    YES! I, too, loved this book. You should read The Ballad of the Sad Cafe next! Carson McCullers yes yes yes.

Leave a Reply

