In which I gloat – generously.


If you want to see other gorgeous cupcakes, click on the photo.

Serendipity! I am now the proud owner of a $100 Amazon gift card. The only thing that would make me happier would be THESE cupcakes. I will gladly take any and all book recommendations (or cupcakes), but please only send me the best of the best. Ready, set, GO!

Ah, and since I am so excited and feeling generous, if you leave me a comment with a recommendation and your pick and contact info, I’ll randomly choose someone and send YOU* your pick. Make sure and comment by 5 p.m. CST Thursday, March 25, 2010. Thank you for reading! Those of you who have commented since I started this blog, thank you! It’s so fun and encouraging to read your comments. If you’re lurking, de-lurk. I’d love to hear your thoughts. Here’s wishing you a fantastic day full of good books and heavenly cupcakes.

*Please limit this to the continental US because Amazon gift card aside, I am a broke girl.

22 responses to “In which I gloat – generously.

  • trish

    I’d recommend THE UNNAMED, or preordering THE PASSAGE. I would also recommend WAITING FOR COLUMBUS, though I haven’t quite gotten to that yet.

  • Chrisbookarama

    I can’t enter your contest (Canadian here) but just want to say I love those cupcakes!

  • Kelly

    I would also recommend The Unnamed. I just finished Anna Quindlen’s Every Last One, and I loved that; it comes out next month. Finally, if you haven’t read The Shadow of the Wind, you can’t go wrong there. That’s my favorite book ever.

  • Melanie

    Mmm, those cupcakes look good!

    I’d recommend UNDER THIS UNBROKEN SKY by Shandi Mitchell. It’s gorgeously written. And DEDICATION by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus made me smile. 🙂

  • Elyse

    Kelly beat me to the punch with Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s THE SHADOW OF THE WIND so I’ll second it. It’s an amazing, mind-blowing book. I also recommend Audrey Niffenegger’s THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE.

    Welcome to the blogosphere!

    • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

      Elyse –

      Both of those – yes yes yes. Loved them. Have you read Niffenegger’s new book? I just remembered that. Oh, and if you haven’t read The Historian by Elisabeth Kostova, you’d probably like that. Sounds like our tastes veer in the same directions.

      Thanks for the welcome. I’m having a ball.

      • Elyse

        I unfortunately didn’t like Niffenegger’s HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY (if you’re interested, here’s my review http://tinyurl.com/y9h8nr6). Such a disappointment.

        Just read your “about” page and saw you like mysteries. Have you ever read Robert Crais’s Elvis Cole/Joe Pike series? I highly recommend it. First book is THE MONKEY’S RAINCOAT.

        Also, if you like police procedurals on TV, you should check out the BBC series MI-5. There are 7 seasons available on DVD; you’ll be addicted after the first one, guaranteed.

      • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

        Thank you, thank you, thank you. I love mysteries and am always looking for a new series. I will check it out. Unfortunately, I can read police procedurals, but for some reason, I can’t watch them without turning into the biggest baby. I may get them through Netflix anyway and watch in the daytime. 😉

        I will definitely check out your review.

  • wordlily

    Hm, I think I’ll recommend The Manual of Detection by Jedediah Berry.

    I, too, loved The Shadow of the Wind. Angel’s Game was good, but didn’t really compare in awesomeness to Shadow.

  • melissa @ 1lbr

    I was going to recommend The Help, but it appears you already read that. So, I think I’ll go with The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner or Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (if you go for fantasy). In fact, Incarceron is my pick. I adored the book. Thanks for the contest – now I’m craving cupcakes.

    • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

      Oh yes, Melissa. I loved The Help. In fact, I can’t stop thinking about the characters and really want to do some more research on domestic relationships in that era. Have you read the play Fences by August Wilson? I am teaching that in my classes this week, and for some reason, it’s brought up a lot of similar themes in The Help – but from the opposite side, African American males during the late 50s. Really incredible play.

      I’ll check out the others. Thanks for the suggestions. And I think I always crave cupcakes, even if the craving is relegated to the back of my mind.

  • Frances

    Hi cupcake girl! Those look yummy. I also just enjoyed The Manual of Detection and the new Flavia de Luce, The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag. Have also recently started re-reading the works of Tennessee Williams and have been blown away! Happy reading!

  • claire

    Yummy!! No need to enter me as I’m in Canada but I’d love to recommend What is the What by Dave Eggers. I think more people should read it. You’ve probably read most of what I have in mind, but if you haven’t Yukio Mishima’s The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, it’s awesome.

    Have fun with your new picks, whatever they turn out to be!

Leave a Reply

