The Death of the Multi-tasker


I have always prided myself on being a multi-tasker…

I am no longer. I am in the midst of a busy semester. I am planning a friend’s baby shower. And I am planning Lamar University’s Academic Lecturer program where Sarah Vowell will speak on April 6, 2010.

Today, I happily sat down in my home office after teaching and began to tackle the lecture, the reception, the details, deadlines for marketing. I also wanted to remove the dark, non-working shades in my office windows with blinds to let more light in. AND, I wanted to cook lunch – a yummy, healthy Mexican lasagna:

It was so easy and yummy.

[Cook veggies until heated through (I used black beans,  corn, bell pepper, and tomatoes). In a square pan, put a layer of veggie mixture, some  fat-free cheese, wheat tortillas (I used two on each layer), another layer of veggies,  repeat cheese and tortillas. Cook for 30 minutes. Serve with sliced avocado. Yummy.]

But see, I’ve already been sidetracked. That is exactly what happened this afternoon. After getting the veggies cooking, I came back to my office, sat down, got back up to fix the blind, realized I didn’t have the right tool, went back to the kitchen, checked on the veggies… you see where this is going.

I finally had to stop in the middle of cooking, take down the shade, put up the blind (spilled a box of screws in the process), put the lasagna in the oven, came back to the computer and got busy until it was time to eat. Ate. Made phone calls. Looked up and it was 3:20 p.m. Maddie had a vet appointment at 3:15 p.m. I raced with her to get her shots at the vet’s office. Came back, cuddled her, and wrote a couple of rapid emails.

Whew. I’m glad that’s over. The good news? My Travel + Leisure came in the mail today, so this evening I will eat a good, hot dinner that’s already made and flip through a magazine full of dreams.

Leave a Reply

