My TBR (To Be Read) Pile…Aren’t you jealous?


  • The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoevsky
  • A Reliable Wife by Goolrick
  • The Women’s Room by French
  • Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Bradley
  • The Help by Stockett
  • Interred With Their Bones by Carrell
  • The Brutal Telling by Penny
  • Cathedral by Carver (reread)
  • The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death by Huston
  • The Long Fall by Mosley
  • The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by McCullers
  • Broken by Clay
  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Chabon

(I linked to a couple reviews. If you have reviews of any of the above, let me know, and I’ll link them.)

The mail just came, and lo and behold, I got a magic shipment from amazon. I love mail – especially when it comes in packages. Over the past couple weeks, I have dusted off some books that I started reading but never finished or forgot I had and came up with the above TBR stack. The Brothers Karamazov won’t be read until April because I’ll be reading with Dolce Belleza over at her blog. It will be my first read along with another blogger, so I’m definitely excited about that. After reading With Extra Pulp’s review of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Klay, I had to pick that one up and put it back in the pile. It was one of those that I got to about page 160, wasn’t just fascinated and put down. It eventually made its way to the shelf, and I forgot about it. As I’ve already begun that and The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death and Cathedral, I think I’ll finish those first.

I’m rereading Cathedral specifically because I am presenting a paper on one of Raymond Carver’s stories at my first-ever conference on Saturday (CCTE – Conference of College Teachers of English) and am so incredibly nervous. It’s odd. I don’t have a low self-esteem, but when it comes to my writing, I never ever feel that it’s up to par. The paper had to be submitted to the conference and accepted, so obviously it’s no goof, but then I tell myself: Oh, it’s a little conference. Or, oh, they had to pick you because your university is hosting. Or, or, or. It’s not at all healthy or attractive. Once the chair of my department told me there is a Q&A after the presentation, I flipped. I wrote the essay a couple of years ago and feel like a fish out of water. So… reread quickly.

After I finish those, though, it will be extremely difficult to pick the first out of the box. Suggestions or bidding wars are quite welcome. I hope everyone has a wonderful TBR stack awaiting them. Happy reading!

13 responses to “My TBR (To Be Read) Pile…Aren’t you jealous?

  • Marlene

    Without a DOUBT….read The Help. Probably one of my TOP five favorite books ever. And trust me when I tell you, that’s saying a LOT! You’ll laugh, you’ll learn things, you’ll be shocked and apalled, you’ll weep, and you will HATE turning the last page!

    • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

      I am so excited to read that and all the others. I first saw The Help when we were at the Texas Book Festival in October. It was on one of those tables, but of course, the content there was so overwhelming. Apparently, it is THE book this year, so I’m anxious to get to it.

  • Bellezza

    You have a great pile of books there! It will be so fun to read The Brothers Karamazov together, and more keep joining every day. I think we’ll be able to really enrich our experience by sharing our thoughts together. I hope you like A Reliable Wife as much as I did; I, too, have Sweetness at The Bottom of The Pie to read.

  • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

    I know! I haven’t had a pile like this in a really long time, so I’m thrilled.

    Well, and The Brothers Karamazov will be much easier for me to read if I have a group to help me stay accountable. Otherwise, I’d probably never pick it up again.

  • T J Geiger

    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter is one of favorite all time reads from my undergrad years. It’s beautiful to see someone from that period working through the complex ways in which racial ideologies and class experience shaped the life possibilities of Americans and also offer a compelling portrait of people’s everyday dignity.

    Also, CCTE is solid conference. Good for meeting people from around the state–a networking opportunity as well as a chance to share your work.

  • Elena

    I really really want to read The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter…looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

    Good luck getting through the epic pile (read-along sounds like a good idea though ^_^)

  • kiss a cloud

    Your stack looks great! I do hope you enjoy The Brothers Karamazov read-along! It’s such an excellent book; really loved it. I also purchased The Heart is a Lonely Hunter today! Have been meaning to get to it for some time now, but you know how it is. 😀

  • Frances

    Can’t wait for The Brothers Karamazov over at Bellezza’s but until then … Hmmm. There is so much good stuff here but I just LOVE The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. And the second in the series will be out soon! Happy reading!

    • pickygirlfoodfilmfiction

      Thanks for visiting! I’m getting excited too. Right now, I’m trudging through The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Klay, trying to finish. I have heard amazing things about The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. Can’t wait to get to it.

Leave a Reply

